Ontario's Legislative Assembly - 1867 to Today

On July 1st, 1867, the British North America Act was passed by Parliament in the United Kingdom creating Canada – a land with four provinces united under a central federal government.

Today, Canada is a vast country with 10 provinces spanning North America from Atlantic to Pacific Oceans and reaching far into the arctic with its three territories. As the country’s most populous region, the province of Ontario is governed by a parliament rich in tradition and history that has served a diverse and growing population since its beginning over 150 years ago.
View of College Avenue, now University Avenue, Toronto, circa 1867
Picture of the Front Street Legislative Building, in use from 1832 to 1892.
Composite picture of the Members of the 1st Parliament of Ontario, 1867 to 1871.
View of the Legislative Chamber, Front Street Legislative Building, late 19th century
Views of the Legislative Chamber, Front Street Legislative Building, and today's Legislative Chamber, Queen's Park
Picture of a detail of the Legislative Chamber ceiling painted by Gustav Hahn
View of horseshoe-style seating in Ontario's Legislative Chamber circa 1930
Picture of John Robarts unveiling the Post One monument
Picture of the Fort York Honour Guard in front of the Legislative Building, 1967
Picture of the tree lighting ceremony on the grounds of the Legislature, December, 1967.
East wing of Ontario's Legislative Building, 1960 and 2017
View towards Ontario's Legislative Building 1920s and 2017