Located in Ontario's capital, Toronto, the provincial government is responsible for issues that affect the province as a whole. These include education, health care, the environment, agriculture and highways.

Ontario's parliament consists of 124 elected representatives called Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs) elected from across the province, and the Monarch represented by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. Each MPP represents a geographical area of the province called a riding. The political party with the most MPPs forms the provincial government. Their leader becomes the Premier and she or he is the head of the provincial government.

Government of Ontario Web Site