Books of Remembrance

The seven Books of Remembrance commemorate the lives of the more than 118,000 Canadians who, since Confederation, have given their lives while serving our country. The original Books of Remembrance are kept in the Memorial Chamber of the Peace Tower in Ottawa. Every morning the pages of the seven books are turned - each page of each book is turned once a year.

A copy of the Second World War Book of Remembrance, on display in the lobby of Ontario's Legislative Building from November 1st to 15th, contains more than 44,000 names of Canadians who died during the war. Artist Alan Beddoe from Ottawa created the book. In addition to the names of those who lost their lives, he also included pages commemorating particular actions, battles, and places that were significant to Canadians during the war.