The Capital Cities


Ontario’s capital city, Toronto, is Canada’s most populous municipality with nearly 3 million people. The city is also ranked as one of the most multicultural in the world with half of its population born outside Canada. Over 140 languages and dialects are spoken here.  

Toronto is also the corporate and financial capital of Canada and home to its five largest banks as well as the third largest stock market in North America, the TMX Group. It is the nation’s largest employment centre. Arts and culture are also an important part of the city’s fabric – with world class museums such as the Royal Ontario Museum and Art Gallery of Ontario and the third- largest theatre centre in the English-speaking world after New York and London. 

Toronto skyline at night
Toronto's Skyline at Night


Canada’s capital is also the second-largest city in Ontario with a regional population of close to 1.5 million people. Queen Victoria chose Ottawa as Canada’s capital in 1857 as it was a defensible location situated on the border between Quebec and Ontario – the two provinces making up the country at the time. The city is home to Parliament Hill, the meeting place of Canada’s House of Commons and Senate. The Supreme Court of Canada and Rideau Hall – home of the Governor General - are also located nearby as are the embassies of 130 nations. Ottawa is also known as a national cultural destination, with important museums such as the National Gallery of Canada, the Canadian Museum of Civilization and the recently-built Canadian War Museum.

Fireworks show over Parliament Hill, Ottawa
Fireworks show over Parliament Hill, Ottawa