Branches of Government

There are three branches who work together to govern: legislative, executive and judicial. 

Legislative Branch

The legislative branch consists of the Legislative Assembly of elected representatives at the provincial level, and at the federal level, it consists of the elected House of Commons and the appointed Senate. The legislative branch has the power and responsibility to debate, amend, and pass laws.

Executive Branch

The executive branch also called the government, is comprised of the Monarch, represented by the Lieutenant Governor (external link) at the provincial level, the Premier and the Executive Council (Cabinet). The Executive Council is made up of elected Members of Provincial Parliament appointed as Cabinet Ministers by the Lieutenant Governor on the advice of the Premier. The executive branch is the administrative governing body, who sets priorities and public policy. 

Judiciary Branch

The judiciary branch consists of an independent system of courts who administer justice by interpreting and applying laws, and protecting the rights of citizens. The Ontario courts are: the Court of Appeal for Ontario, the Superior Court of Justice, and the Ontario Court of Justice.