HE051 - Wed 8 May 2024 / Mer 8 mai 2024



Wednesday 8 May 2024 Mercredi 8 mai 2024

Selection of estimates


The committee met at 1301 in committee room 1.

Selection of estimates

The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): Good afternoon, everyone. The Standing Committee on Heritage, Infrastructure and Cultural Policy will now come to order. Our agenda today is the selection of estimates.

The estimates for the following ministries and offices have been referred to the Standing Committee on Heritage, Infrastructure and Cultural Policy:

—Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism;

—Ministry of Infrastructure;

—Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing;

—Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport;

—Ministry of Transportation;

—Office of the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario.

The Clerk circulated electronic copies of the 2024-25 estimates and the corresponding briefing books.

The objective of today’s meeting is to select the estimates of certain ministries or offices for review by the committee. Standing order 63 sets out the process by which the committee makes its selections. Each of the recognized parties on the committee shall select the estimates for up to one ministry or office in each turn. The official opposition selects first, followed by the government. If members of one party decline to make a selection, the selection then passes to the next party in the rotation. The process concludes when either there are no further ministries or offices available to select or both recognized parties decline to make any further selections.

Pursuant to standing order 63(c), these selections are to be reviewed in the order that they were chosen. However, this order may be altered by unanimous agreement of the subcommittee on committee business or by order of the House.

The estimates of those ministries or offices not selected for consideration will be deemed to have been passed by the committee. As Chair, I will report those unselected estimates back to the House, and they will be deemed to be adopted and concurred in by the House.

Do members have any questions before we begin? I hear none.

I’ll start with the official opposition for their first selection: MPP Armstrong, please.

Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong: Our first selection for estimates is the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing.

The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): Next is the government for their first selection: MPP Rae, please.

Mr. Matthew Rae: I select Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): I will now ask the official opposition for their selection.

Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong: Our next selection is the Ministry of Transportation.

The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): I’ll now go to the government for their next selection.

Mr. Matthew Rae: We’re done.

The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): Okay, no further selections for the government.

I will now go to the official opposition.

Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong: Okay, so we can pick as many from the order that—

The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): One at a time, but yes.

Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong: We would like to have Ministry of Infrastructure as the fourth ministry for estimates.

The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): The government side with no further selections—to the official opposition side.

Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong: And then the last one on the list that was referred to our committee is the Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism.

The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): Over to the government side—


The Chair (Ms. Laurie Scott): That’s it. I guess we’re done. Sorry, I wasn’t counting.

As all the selections and motions are complete, are there any other questions that the members wish to raise? Seeing none, thank you; that concludes our business for today. The committee is now adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 1305.


Chair / Présidente

Ms. Laurie Scott (Haliburton–Kawartha Lakes–Brock PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong (London–Fanshawe ND)

Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong (London–Fanshawe ND)

Mr. Ric Bresee (Hastings–Lennox and Addington PC)

Mr. Rick Byers (Bruce–Grey–Owen Sound PC)

Mr. Joel Harden (Ottawa Centre / Ottawa-Centre ND)

Mr. Logan Kanapathi (Markham–Thornhill PC)

Ms. Mary-Margaret McMahon (Beaches–East York L)

Mr. Matthew Rae (Perth–Wellington PC)

Mr. Sheref Sabawy (Mississauga–Erin Mills PC)

Ms. Laurie Scott (Haliburton–Kawartha Lakes–Brock PC)

Mr. Dave Smith (Peterborough–Kawartha PC)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Isaiah Thorning

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Sude Bahar Beltan, research officer,
Research Services