A004 - Tue 17 Apr 2012 / Mar 17 avr 2012



Tuesday 17 April 2012 Mardi 17 avril 2012


The committee met at 0901 in committee room 1.


The Chair (Mr. Bill Mauro): Good morning, everybody. Welcome to the Standing Committee on Government Agencies. As you’ve heard, we have three reports to consider, the first one being the agency review. I think, Ms. Jaczek, you’re going to read that one into the record for us.

Ms. Helena Jaczek: Yes, Chair. Your subcommittee on committee business met on Monday, April 2, 2012, to consider the method of proceeding on agency reviews, and recommends the following:

(1) That the list of agency reviews to be conducted read as follows (one selection per caucus):

—selection of the official opposition: Liquor Control Board of Ontario;

—selection of the third party: Workplace Safety and Insurance Board;

—selection of the government: Metropolitan Toronto Convention Centre Corp.

(2) That the committee request authorization from the House to meet on Tuesday afternoons following routine proceedings and at the call of the Chair during the summer adjournment.

(3) That the order for consideration of the selected agencies be:

—1st, official opposition selection;

—2nd, third party selection;

—3rd, government selection.

(4) That, subject to the authorization of the House, each agency be invited to appear before the committee on a Tuesday afternoon for their review.

(5) That the agency chair/CEO and agency staff be invited to make a presentation to the committee on behalf of each agency selected.

(6) That each agency be allowed a 10-minute opening statement, to be followed by questioning in rounds by each caucus.

(7) That each caucus provide the clerk with a list of stakeholder groups (per agency review) that they wish to invite to appear before the committee.

(8) That, subject to the authorization of the House, identified agency stakeholders be invited to appear before the committee on a Tuesday afternoon for questioning.

(9) That 40 minutes be allocated to each caucus’s stakeholder selection(s) during each meeting.

(10) That the research officer provide committee members with an introductory briefing prior to the start of each agency review.

(11) That a questionnaire be sent to each agency selected, indicating a deadline by which responses are to be submitted to the clerk of the committee.

(12) That the research officer prepare background papers on each agency selected prior to review by the committee, and that the research officer prepare summaries of the hearings prior to report writing by the committee.

(13) That the background information provided to the committee by the research officer contain information on any bills before the House, press releases and/or articles relating to the selected agencies.

(14) That the clerk of the committee, in consultation with the Chair, be authorized, prior to the passage of the report of the subcommittee, to commence making any preliminary arrangements necessary to facilitate the committee’s proceedings.

The Chair (Mr. Bill Mauro): Thank you, Ms. Jaczek. Any discussion? Seeing none, all in favour? Opposed? Carried.

We have two other subcommittee reports, neither of which need to be read into the record. Any discussion? Mr. McDonell.


The Chair (Mr. Bill Mauro): Sorry, we need to move the first—yes, thank you.

Mr. Jim McDonell: I move that the subcommittee report of March 29 be accepted.

The Chair (Mr. Bill Mauro): Any discussion? Seeing none, all in favour? Carried.

Mr. McDonell.

Mr. Jim McDonell: I move that the subcommittee’s report of April 12 be accepted as well.

The Chair (Mr. Bill Mauro): Any discussion? Seeing none, all in favour? Carried.

That’s it. Thank you very much. The standing committee stands adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 0905.


Tuesday 17 April 2012

Subcommittee reports A-21


Chair / Président

Mr. Bill Mauro (Thunder Bay–Atikokan L)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Phil McNeely (Ottawa–Orléans L)

Mrs. Donna H. Cansfield (Etobicoke Centre / Etobicoke-Centre L)

Ms. Helena Jaczek (Oak Ridges–Markham L)

Mr. Bill Mauro (Thunder Bay–Atikokan L)

Mr. Jim McDonell (Stormont–Dundas–South Glengarry PC)

Mr. Phil McNeely (Ottawa–Orléans L)

Mr. Randy Pettapiece (Perth–Wellington PC)

Mr. Peter Tabuns (Toronto–Danforth ND)

Miss Monique Taylor (Hamilton Mountain ND)

Ms. Lisa Thompson (Huron–Bruce PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Ms. Tracy MacCharles (Pickering–Scarborough East / Pickering–Scarborough-Est L)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Trevor Day

Staff / Personnel

Mr. Andrew McNaught, research officer,
Legislative Research Service