F003 - Thu 23 Oct 2014 / Jeu 23 oct 2014



Thursday 23 October 2014 Jeudi 23 octobre 2014

Election of Chair

Election of Vice-Chair

Appointment of subcommittee

The committee met at 0906 in room 151.

Election of Chair

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Katch Koch): Good morning, honourable members. Welcome to the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs. My name is Katch Koch, and I’m the Clerk of your committee.

It is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair, and pursuant to standing order 117(b), the Chair of the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs shall be a member of the party forming the government. Are there any nominations?

Ms. Cindy Forster: I nominate Soo Wong.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Katch Koch): Ms. Wong, do you accept the nomination?

Ms. Soo Wong: Yes, I do.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Katch Koch): Are there further nominations?

There being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Ms. Wong elected Chair of the committee. Ms. Wong, may I ask you to take the chair to preside over the election of the Vice-Chair.

Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair (Ms. Soo Wong): All right. Good morning. Thank you very much.

We are doing item number 2 on the agenda. Can I have a motion for the election of the Vice-Chair? Mr. McNaughton?

Mr. Monte McNaughton: I move that Mr. Milczyn be appointed Vice-Chair of the committee.

The Chair (Ms. Soo Wong): Any discussion? Oh, this is really co-operative. This is great. Thank you. Are we ready for the vote?

All those in favour? Opposed? Carried.

Congratulations, Mr. Milczyn.

Mr. Peter Z. Milczyn: Thank you.

Appointment of subcommittee

The Chair (Ms. Soo Wong): Item number 3, appointment of a subcommittee on committee business: Is there a motion of the House for this particular item? Ms. Forster?

Ms. Cindy Forster: I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time, at the call of the Chair or at the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee;

That the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting;

That the subcommittee be composed of the following members: the Chair as Chair, Mrs. Albanese, Mr. Fedeli and Ms. Fife; and

That substitution may be permitted on the subcommittee.

The Chair (Ms. Soo Wong): Is there any discussion on this particular motion? Ready for the vote?

All those in favour? Opposed? Carried.

So thank you very much. That’s it, folks. The committee adjourns.

The committee adjourned at 0910.


Thursday 23 October 2014

Election of Chair F-41

Election of Vice-Chair F-41

Appointment of subcommittee F-41


Chair / Présidente

Ms. Soo Wong (Scarborough–Agincourt L)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Peter Z. Milczyn (Etobicoke–Lakeshore L)

Mrs. Laura Albanese (York South–Weston / York-Sud–Weston L)

Mr. Yvan Baker (Etobicoke Centre / Etobicoke-Centre L)

Mr. Victor Fedeli (Nipissing PC)

Ms. Catherine Fife (Kitchener–Waterloo ND)

Ms. Ann Hoggarth (Barrie L)

Mr. Monte McNaughton (Lambton–Kent–Middlesex PC)

Mr. Peter Z. Milczyn (Etobicoke–Lakeshore L)

Ms. Daiene Vernile (Kitchener Centre / Kitchener-Centre L)

Ms. Soo Wong (Scarborough–Agincourt L)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Ms. Cindy Forster (Welland ND)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Katch Koch

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Susan Viets, research officer,
Research Services