Monday 3 May 1999

Election of Chair R-1

Election of Vice-Chair R-1

Appointment of subcommittee R-1


Chair / Président

Mrs Brenda Elliott (Guelph PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr Peter L. Preston (Brant-Haldimand PC)

Mr David Christopherson (Hamilton Centre / -Centre ND)

Mr Ted Chudleigh (Halton North / -Nord PC)

Mr Sean G. Conway (Renfrew North / -Nord L)

Mrs Brenda Elliott (Guelph PC)

Mr Doug Galt (Northumberland PC)

Mr John Hastings (Etobicoke-Rexdale PC)

Mr Pat Hoy (Essex-Kent L)

Mr Bart Maves (Niagara Falls PC)

Mr Peter L. Preston (Brant-Haldimand PC)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr Viktor Kaczkowski

Staff / Personnel

Mr Lewis Yeager, research officer, Legislative Research Service

The committee met at 1533 in committee room 1.


Clerk of the Committee (Mr Viktor Kaczkowski): Good afternoon. Honourable members, it is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations?

Mr Bart Maves (Niagara Falls): I'd like to nominate Mrs Elliott as Chair.

Clerk of the Committee: Are there any further nominations? There being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and that Mrs Elliott be elected Chair.

The Chair (Mrs Brenda Elliott): Thank you, colleagues. I'll do the best of my ability in the task allotted to me.


The Chair: It is now my duty, then, to call upon you to elect a Vice-Chair. Are there any nominations for this position?

Mr Doug Galt (Northumberland): I would like to put in nomination the name of Peter Preston.

The Chair: Are there any further nominations? Seeing none, I declare the nominations closed, and Mr Preston will be our Vice-Chair for resources development.

Mr Peter L. Preston (Brant-Haldimand): I am going to do everything you said you were going to do - twice as hard.

The Chair: Congratulations.


The Chair: We also ask if there is a mover for the motion to appoint a business subcommittee.

Mr Maves: I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair, or at the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee; that the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting; and that the subcommittee be composed of the following members: Mrs Elliott, Chair; Mr Galt; Mr Hoy; and Mr Christopherson; and that any member may designate a substitute member on the subcommittee who is of the same recognized party.

The Chair: Any discussion on this motion? All those in favour? Opposed? The motion is carried.

That concludes our business. The next meeting will be on Monday, November 20 at 3:30.


The Chair: Well, perhaps at the call of the Chair.

All right, we are adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 1535.