M010 - Wed 1 May 2019 / Mer 1er mai 2019



Wednesday 1 May 2019 Mercredi 1er mai 2019

Subcommittee report


The committee met at 1301 in committee room 1.

Subcommittee report

The Chair (Ms. Jane McKenna): Good afternoon. The Standing Committee on the Legislative Assembly will now come to order.

The first item on the agenda is the report of the subcommittee on committee business. Can a member please read it into the record? MPP Bailey.

Mr. Robert Bailey: Madam Chair, I’d like to read the following:

Your subcommittee on committee business met on April 16, 2019, and recommends the following:

(1) That the committee approve a budget in the amount of $59,953 for permanent members and staff of the committee to attend the 2019 legislative summit of the National Conference of State Legislatures, and that the final budget be submitted to the Speaker and the Board of Internal Economy for their approval.

I move that the report of the subcommittee be adopted.

The Chair (Ms. Jane McKenna): MPP Bailey has moved the adoption of the subcommittee report. Any discussion? Are members ready to vote?

All those in favour, please raise your hand.

All those opposed, raise your hand.

The motion is carried.

We’re now going to recess for a few minutes to clear the room to go into a closed session.

The committee recessed at 1302 and later continued in closed session.


Chair / Présidente

Ms. Jane McKenna (Burlington PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Vijay Thanigasalam (Scarborough–Rouge Park PC)

Mr. Robert Bailey (Sarnia–Lambton PC)

Ms. Rima Berns-McGown (Beaches–East York ND)

Mr. Lorne Coe (Whitby PC)

Mr. Michael Coteau (Don Valley East / Don Valley-Est L)

Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener–Conestoga PC)

Mr. Faisal Hassan (York South–Weston / York-Sud–Weston ND)

Ms. Jane McKenna (Burlington PC)

Miss Christina Maria Mitas (Scarborough Centre / Scarborough-Centre PC)

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff (Niagara West / Niagara-Ouest PC)

Mr. Gurratan Singh (Brampton East / Brampton-Est ND)

Mr. Vijay Thanigasalam (Scarborough–Rouge Park PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Clerk / Greffière

Ms. Valerie Quioc Lim

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Joanne McNair, Table Research Clerk,
Table Research