SP043 - Mon 29 Mar 2021 / Lun 29 mar 2021



Monday 29 March 2021 Lundi 29 mars 2021

Election of Vice-Chair


The committee met at 1400 in committee room 2 and by video conference.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): It is 2 p.m. We can start. MPP Harris, go ahead, sir.

Mr. Mike Harris: Just on a point of order: As much as I love and respect MPP Harden, I just wanted to know your feelings on the signs that he has up in the background—whether or not we’re making political statements here at committee.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): No problem, MPP Harris. I’m guessing you’re talking about the sign which is on the left of MPP Harden. That’s the one?

Mr. Mike Harris: The one in NDP colours talking about paid sick days, and then, obviously, the one below probably isn’t as egregious, in my opinion.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): Technically, we wouldn’t have to go through this conversation if we all would be sitting in the room, but since we’re working through Zoom—and I do respect respecting each other. If you have an objection, respectfully, I would request MPP Harden to kindly remove that. And for that matter, if any one of you has any objection on any other, we would do the same. Thank you so much. Thank you, MPP Harden, for that.

Good afternoon, everyone. I call this meeting to order. We’re meeting today for the purpose of organization. We have the following members in presence: We have MPP Kusendova and MPP Christine Hogarth in person, right here in the room. We have MPP Babikian, MPP Burch, MPP Fee, MPP Harden, MPP Karpoche, MPP Martin, MPP Tangri and MPP Harris through Zoom. Staff from Hansard, broadcast and recording, and legislative research have joined us remotely.

To make sure that everyone can understand what is going on, it is important that all participants speak slowly and clearly. Please wait until I recognize you before starting to speak. Since it could take a little time for your audio and video to come up after I recognize you, please take a brief pause before beginning. As always, please make sure all comments go through the Chair. At this point, before we proceed, are there any questions?

Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): Seeing none, the business that we have today is the election of a Vice-Chair. The honourable member MPP Bhutila Karpoche has provided notice of her resignation as Vice-Chair of this committee, effective March 25, 2021. At this time, it is my duty to entertain a motion for Vice-Chair.

Before I ask for any motions, I would like to remind the honourable members of the standing order relating to the Vice-Chair appointments. Standing order 120(d) notes: “Where the Chair of a standing committee is a member of the party forming the government, the Vice-Chair shall be a member of a recognized party in opposition to the government or an independent member; and where the Chair is a member of a recognized party in opposition to the government, the Vice-Chair shall be a member of the party forming the government.”

At this time, I’m going to be asking the members: Are there any motions? I do see MPP Harden. MPP Harden, go ahead, sir.

Mr. Joel Harden: I’d like to move that Ms. Karpoche be appointed Vice-Chair of the committee.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): MPP Harden has moved the motion that MPP Bhutila Karpoche be nominated for the position of Vice-Chair. Is that correct, MPP Harden? Go ahead, MPP Harden.

Mr. Joel Harden: Could I just change the language of my motion to indicate that I should have said “MPP Karpoche”? I thank you for the correction, Chair.

The Chair (Mr. Deepak Anand): No problem, sir. Thank you so much.

At this time, is there any debate? Seeing none, are the members ready to vote? All those in favour, please raise your hand. All those opposed, please raise your hand. I declare the motion carried.

With a smile, thank you, everyone, and welcome again, MPP Bhutila Karpoche. That concludes our business for today. The meeting is now adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 1405.


Chair / Président

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Ms. Bhutila Karpoche (Parkdale–High Park ND)

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Mr. Aris Babikian (Scarborough–Agincourt PC)

Mr. Jeff Burch (Niagara Centre / Niagara-Centre ND)

Ms. Amy Fee (Kitchener South–Hespeler / Kitchener-Sud–Hespeler PC)

Mr. Michael Gravelle (Thunder Bay–Superior North / Thunder Bay–Supérieur-Nord L)

Mr. Joel Harden (Ottawa Centre / Ottawa-Centre ND)

Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener–Conestoga PC)

Ms. Christine Hogarth (Etobicoke–Lakeshore PC)

Mrs. Belinda C. Karahalios (Cambridge NBP)

Ms. Bhutila Karpoche (Parkdale–High Park ND)

Ms. Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre / Mississauga-Centre PC)

Mrs. Robin Martin (Eglinton–Lawrence PC)

Ms. Effie J. Triantafilopoulos (Oakville North–Burlington / Oakville-Nord–Burlington PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mrs. Nina Tangri (Mississauga–Streetsville PC)

Clerk pro tem / Greffière par intérim

Ms. Julia Douglas

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Sandra Lopes, research officer,
Research Services