Wednesday 8 August 2018 Mercredi 8 août 2018

Election of Chair

Election of Vice-Chair

Subcommittee report










The committee met at 1301 in committee room 1.

The Clerk pro tem (Ms. Tonia Grannum): Good afternoon, everyone. I’m Tonia Grannum, Clerk of Procedural Services. I’m just filling in for Valerie Quioc Lim, who is the Clerk of this committee. She’s at a conference right now. I’m going to take you through your organization meeting, and then we’ll go into closed session so that the research officer, Andrew McNaught, and I can give you a briefing about this committee. We won’t be here very long, though.

Election of Chair

The Clerk pro tem (Ms. Tonia Grannum): Honourable members, it is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations? Mr. Bailey.

Mr. Robert Bailey: I’d like to nominate Jane McKenna, the member for Burlington.

The Clerk pro tem (Ms. Tonia Grannum): Ms. McKenna, do you accept the nomination?

Ms. Jane McKenna: I do.

The Clerk pro tem (Ms. Tonia Grannum): Are there any further nominations? There being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Ms. McKenna duly elected as Chair of the committee.

Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair (Ms. Jane McKenna): Good afternoon, honourable members. It’s my duty to entertain a motion for Vice-Chair. Are there any motions?

Miss Christina Maria Mitas: I move to make Vijay Thanigasalam be Vice-Chair.

Interjection: I second the motion.

The Chair (Ms. Jane McKenna): A motion has been moved. Is there any debate? Are members ready to vote? All those in favour please raise your hand. All those opposed? The motion is carried and Mr. Thanigasalam is Vice-Chair.

Subcommittee report

The Clerk pro tem (Ms. Tonia Grannum): Mr. Oosterhoff.

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff: I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair, or at the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee;

That the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting; and

That the subcommittee be composed of the following members:

The Chair as Chair; Mr. Bailey and Mr. Singh, Brampton East; and that substitution be permitted on the subcommittee.

The Chair (Ms. Jane McKenna): All those in favour of the motion? Opposed? Carried.

We’re going to go into closed session, and Tonia is going to do a briefing for us.

The committee continued in closed session at 1304.






Chair / Présidente

Ms. Jane McKenna (Burlington PC)


Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Vijay Thanigasalam (Scarborough–Rouge Park PC)


Mr. Robert Bailey (Sarnia–Lambton PC)

Ms. Rima Berns-McGown (Beaches–East York ND)

Mr. Michael Coteau (Don Valley East / Don Valley-Est L)

Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener–Conestoga PC)

Mr. Faisal Hassan (York South–Weston / York-Sud–Weston ND)

Ms. Jane McKenna (Burlington PC)

Miss Christina Maria Mitas (Scarborough Centre / Scarborough-Centre PC)

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff (Niagara West / Niagara-Ouest PC)

Ms. Amanda Simard (Glengarry–Prescott–Russell PC)

Mr. Gurratan Singh (Brampton East / Brampton-Est ND)

Mr. Vijay Thanigasalam (Scarborough–Rouge Park PC)


Clerk pro tem/ Greffière par intérim

Ms. Tonnia Grannum


Staff / Personnel

Mr. Andrew McNaught, research officer,
Research Services