G043 - Wed 21 Feb 2018 / Mer 21 fév 2018



Wednesday 21 February 2018 Mercredi 21 février 2018

Election of Vice-Chair


The committee met at 1600 in committee room 2.

Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): I’d like to call the Standing Committee on General Government to order.

It’s great to see everyone. Members of the committee, I hope everyone has been wintering well and was able to take some time to themselves.

Mr. Lou Rinaldi: Obviously you have.

Ms. Sophie Kiwala: Some of us more so than others.

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): We’re here this afternoon to entertain the election of a Vice-Chair.

Now, having said that, that is the only business on the agenda this afternoon. Do I have a motion to discuss, or should we just adjourn?

Oh, Mr. Baker.

Mr. Yvan Baker: I have a motion, Chair.

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): The floor is yours, sir.

Mr. Yvan Baker: I move that Mr. Arthur Potts be appointed Vice-Chair of the committee.

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff: Whoa!

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): Is that right?

A motion has been moved by Mr. Baker nominating Mr. Arthur Potts as the Vice-Chair. Is there any debate?

Ms. Soo Wong: Let’s call the question.

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): Are the members ready to vote?

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff: I just had a question—

Mr. Arthur Potts: Did I miss the vote?

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): Mr. Oosterhoff.

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff: Does Mr. Potts know that he’s being nominated?

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): Mr. Potts, do you accept the nomination?

Mr. Arthur Potts: I gratefully accept.

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): All right. Any further discussion? There being none, I shall call for the vote.

Shall the motion carry? Are there any opposed? There are none. I declare the motion carried and would like to congratulate MPP Arthur Potts from Beaches–East York as Vice-Chair.

Mr. Arthur Potts: I’m so deeply humbled.

The Chair (Mr. Grant Crack): The motion is carried.

As a result, that was the only business of the day. I declare this meeting adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 1602.


Chair / Président

Mr. Grant Crack (Glengarry–Prescott–Russell L)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Arthur Potts (Beaches–East York L)

Mr. Yvan Baker (Etobicoke Centre / Etobicoke-Centre L)

Mr. Grant Crack (Glengarry–Prescott–Russell L)

Mrs. Lisa Gretzky (Windsor West / Windsor-Ouest ND)

Ms. Sophie Kiwala (Kingston and the Islands / Kingston et les Îles L)

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff (Niagara West–Glanbrook / Niagara-Ouest–Glanbrook PC)

Mr. Arthur Potts (Beaches–East York L)

Mr. Lou Rinaldi (Northumberland–Quinte West L)

Ms. Lisa M. Thompson (Huron–Bruce PC)

Ms. Soo Wong (Scarborough–Agincourt L)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Ms. Teresa J. Armstrong (London–Fanshawe ND)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Eric Rennie

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Lauren Warner, research officer,
Research Services