SP024 - Mon 30 Oct 2023 / Lun 30 oct 2023



Monday 30 October 2023 Lundi 30 octobre 2023

Committee business


The committee met at 0901 in committee room 2.

Committee business

The Chair (Mr. Brian Riddell): Good morning, everyone. The Standing Committee on Social Policy will now come to order. As always, please wait to be recognized by myself before speaking. All questions and comments will need to go through Chair.

On the agenda today, this morning, we have committee business. Are there any motions? The Chair recognizes MPP Barnes.

Ms. Patrice Barnes: I move that the committee enter closed session for the purposes of organizing committee business.

The Chair (Mr. Brian Riddell): MPP Barnes has moved the motion. Is there any debate? I recognize MPP Gélinas.

Mme France Gélinas: I’ll pretend to be psychic. We will go into committee. She will read what the committee schedule will be for Bill 135. They will limit how much people can present. I will ask to give people more of a chance to make presentations to the committee. They will win because they have a majority. Then we will read this into the record. I say, let’s get all of this and just keep it open because it will end up in the exact same place anyway.

The Chair (Mr. Brian Riddell): Debate? I recognize MPP Shamji.

Mr. Adil Shamji: MPP Gélinas has incredible foresight. That is all.

The Chair (Mr. Brian Riddell): Further debate? Ready to vote?

Mme France Gélinas: Recorded vote.


Barnes, Bouma, Jordan, Quinn, Laura Smith, Wai.


Gélinas, Shamji.

The Chair (Mr. Brian Riddell): The motion is carried.

We will now go into closed session. I will recess the committee until we have cleared the room.

The committee recessed at 0903 and later continued in closed session.


Chair / Président

Mr. Brian Riddell (Cambridge PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Mme France Gélinas (Nickel Belt ND)

Ms. Patrice Barnes (Ajax PC)

Mr. Wayne Gates (Niagara Falls ND)

Mme France Gélinas (Nickel Belt ND)

Mrs. Lisa Gretzky (Windsor West / Windsor-Ouest ND)

Mr. John Jordan (Lanark–Frontenac–Kingston PC)

Mrs. Robin Martin (Eglinton–Lawrence PC)

Ms. Natalie Pierre (Burlington PC)

Mr. Nolan Quinn (Stormont–Dundas–South Glengarry PC)

Mr. Brian Riddell (Cambridge PC)

Mr. Adil Shamji (Don Valley East / Don Valley-Est L)

Mrs. Daisy Wai (Richmond Hill PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Will Bouma (Brantford–Brant PC)

Ms. Laura Smith (Thornhill PC)

Clerk / Greffière

Ms. Lesley Flores

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Ellen Wankiewicz, research officer,
Research Services