P004 - Mon 5 Dec 2022 / Lun 5 déc 2022



Monday 5 December 2022 Lundi 5 décembre 2022

Subcommittee report


The committee met at 1639 in committee room 1, following a closed session.

Subcommittee report

The Chair (Mr. Tom Rakocevic): Welcome to the open session of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts.

Can I please have one of the subcommittee members read the report into the record? MPP McCarthy.

Mr. Todd J. McCarthy: Your subcommittee on committee business met on December 1, 2022, and recommends the following:

That the following sections of the 2022 Annual Report of the Office of the Auditor General of Ontario be reviewed by the committee:

—Value-for-Money Audit: Climate Change Adaptation: Reducing Urban Flood Risk;

—Value-for-Money Audit: COVID-19 Vaccination Program.

There may be more at a later date when the subcommittee meets again, but those are the two for now.

The Chair (Mr. Tom Rakocevic): MPP Gélinas.

Mme France Gélinas: I would like to make a friendly amendment: to discard the vaccination program and change it to “Value-for-Money Audit: Highway Planning and Management.”

Mr. Todd J. McCarthy: Mr. Chair, I am prepared to adopt that as a friendly amendment. Is that possible?

The Clerk of the Committee (Ms. Tanzima Khan): Is it correct as you see it on the screen?

Mme France Gélinas: Yes.

Mr. Todd J. McCarthy: It’s now correctly indicated, yes. Those are the two items. As I say, there may be more from the report, but those are the two, for now, that are recommended by the subcommittee, Mr. Chair.

The Chair (Mr. Tom Rakocevic): Further debate on this? Okay. Are members ready to vote? All those in favour? Opposed? Carried.

Thank you, everyone. This committee now stands adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 1640.


Chair / Président

Mr. Tom Rakocevic (Humber River–Black Creek ND)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Ms. Donna Skelly (Flamborough–Glanbrook PC)

Mr. Will Bouma (Brantford–Brant PC)

Mr. Rick Byers (Bruce–Grey–Owen Sound PC)

Mme Lucille Collard (Ottawa–Vanier L)

Mr. Stephen Crawford (Oakville PC)

Mr. Rudy Cuzzetto (Mississauga–Lakeshore PC)

Mme France Gélinas (Nickel Belt ND)

Mr. Logan Kanapathi (Markham–Thornhill PC)

Mr. Todd J. McCarthy (Durham PC)

Mr. Tom Rakocevic (Humber River–Black Creek ND)

Ms. Donna Skelly (Flamborough–Glanbrook PC)

Ms. Laura Smith (Thornhill PC)

MPP Lise Vaugeois (Thunder Bay–Superior North / Thunder Bay–Supérieur-Nord ND)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Mme Dawn Gallagher Murphy (Newmarket–Aurora PC)

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff (Niagara West / Niagara-Ouest PC)

Clerk / Greffière

Ms. Tanzima Khan

Staff / Personnel

Mr. Dmitry Granovsky, research officer,
Research Services

Ms. Erica Simmons, research officer,
Research Services