E017 - Wed 25 Mar 2015 / Mer 25 mar 2015



Tuesday 24 March 2015 Mardi 24 mars 2015

Election of Chair

The committee met at 1556 in room 151.

Election of Chair

The Vice-Chair (Miss Monique Taylor): I call the committee to order for the election of the Chair. Mr. Ballard.

Mr. Chris Ballard: I move that Ms. DiNovo do take the chair of the committee as Chair.

The Vice-Chair (Miss Monique Taylor): Mr. Ballard has moved that Ms. DiNovo take the chair of the committee as Chair. Any debate or comments?

Are members ready to vote? All those in favour, please raise your hands. All those opposed? Carried.

Ms. Cheri DiNovo: Thank you very much.

The Vice-Chair (Miss Monique Taylor): Ms. DiNovo will now take the chair.

The Chair (Ms. Cheri DiNovo): I recognize Mr. Hillier.

Mr. Randy Hillier: Thank you very much, Chair. I would just bring to the committee’s attention that there are a number of outstanding questions to various ministers that were requested during the sitting of the estimates committee last fall. Could we encourage those ministers by way of a letter suggesting that those responses are overdue and that the committee would be appreciative of a timely response?

The Chair (Ms. Cheri DiNovo): Thank you, Mr. Hillier. I understand that I can do that. As Chair of the committee, I can write to the ministers. If you send me that, I’ll put that through to the ministers and ask for a response.

Mr. Randy Hillier: If there is—heaven forbid that there is a negative response, but if so, maybe the committee could be called to meet if the ministers do not have a response forthcoming.

The Chair (Ms. Cheri DiNovo): We’re jumping ahead of ourselves there. Let’s wait to see what the response is.

Mr. Michael Harris: I’ve got a comment.

The Chair (Ms. Cheri DiNovo): Mr. Harris.

Mr. Michael Harris: Those ministers—Hansard would have a copy of, because we asked specific questions. They’ll have receipt of who those are and what the questions were.

The Chair (Ms. Cheri DiNovo): Okay. Anything else? Any other discussion?

Mr. Bas Balkissoon: I move adjournment.

The Chair (Ms. Cheri DiNovo): This is so exciting. I get to do this.

The committee adjourned at 1558.


Tuesday 24 March 2015

Election of Chair E-403


Chair / Présidente

Ms. Cheri DiNovo (Parkdale–High Park ND)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Miss Monique Taylor (Hamilton Mountain ND)

Mr. Bas Balkissoon (Scarborough–Rouge River L)

Mr. Chris Ballard (Newmarket–Aurora L)

Mr. Grant Crack (Glengarry–Prescott–Russell L)

Ms. Cheri DiNovo (Parkdale–High Park ND)

Mr. Han Dong (Trinity–Spadina L)

Mr. Michael Harris (Kitchener–Conestoga PC)

Mr. Randy Hillier (Lanark–Frontenac–Lennox and Addington PC)

Ms. Sophie Kiwala (Kingston and the Islands / Kingston et les Îles L)

Miss Monique Taylor (Hamilton Mountain ND)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Katch Koch

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Anne Marzalik, research officer,
Research Services