M002 - Wed 29 Oct 2014 / Mer 29 oct 2014



Wednesday 29 October 2014 Mercredi 29 octobre 2014

Assignment of ministries

The committee met at 1302 in committee room 1.

Assignment of ministries

The Chair (Mr. Toby Barrett): Good afternoon, everyone, to the regular meeting of the Standing Committee on the Legislative Assembly. Our first order of business: the draft committee report, pursuant to standing order 111(b). As I recall, at the time of adjournment, we were about to vote on an amendment to the motion by Ms. Wong. That amendment, what I have in front of me, is marked number 3, where Mr. Hillier moved—I can read it out again quickly: That the motion be amended by adding: “and the Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs” after “Energy”.

The committee would be ready to vote?

Mr. Bas Balkissoon: Ready.

The Chair (Mr. Toby Barrett): All in favour? Those opposed? I declare this amendment lost.

At this point, we now will return to the original motion put forward by Ms. Wong. Ms. Wong, do you want to read your motion again or do you want me to read it?

Ms. Soo Wong: You want me to read it? Okay. I move that, pursuant to standing order 111(b), the Ministry of Energy be assigned to the Standing Committee on Justice Policy.

The Chair (Mr. Toby Barrett): Any debate, discussion from members of the committee? Seeing none, are the members ready to vote?

Mr. Bas Balkissoon: Ready.

The Chair (Mr. Toby Barrett): No calls for a recess, nothing like that? I’m a little gun-shy now.

Mr. Randy Hillier: It’s been well-considered.

The Chair (Mr. Toby Barrett): Shall the motion carry? I declare that motion carried.

Shall the report itself, the draft committee report, as amended, carry? Carried.

I will report this to the Committee of the Whole this afternoon.

There is no further business before us. Committee is adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 1306.


Wednesday 29 October 2014

Assignment of ministries M-9


Chair / Président

Mr. Toby Barrett (Haldimand–Norfolk PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Garfield Dunlop (Simcoe North / Simcoe-Nord PC)

Mr. Granville Anderson (Durham L)

Mr. Bas Balkissoon (Scarborough–Rouge River L)

Mr. Chris Ballard (Newmarket–Aurora L)

Mr. Toby Barrett (Haldimand–Norfolk PC)

Mr. Garfield Dunlop (Simcoe North / Simcoe-Nord PC)

Ms. Eleanor McMahon (Burlington L)

Ms. Laurie Scott (Haliburton–Kawartha Lakes–Brock PC)

Mr. Jagmeet Singh (Bramalea–Gore–Malton ND)

Ms. Soo Wong (Scarborough–Agincourt L)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Randy Hillier (Lanark–Frontenac–Lennox and Addington PC)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Trevor Day

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Heather Webb, research officer,
Research Services