G001 - Mon 25 Oct 2021 / Lun 25 oct 2021



Monday 25 October 2021 Lundi 25 octobre 2021

Election of Chair


The committee met at 1400 in committee room 1 and by video conference.

Election of Chair

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Isaiah Thorning): The Standing Committee on General Government will now come to order.

Honourable members, it is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations? Mr. Harris.

Mr. Mike Harris: It’s my honour to nominate MPP Logan Kanapathi for the position of Chair.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Isaiah Thorning): Thank you. Are there any further nominations? Seeing none, there being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Mr. Kanapathi elected Chair of the committee.

The Chair (Mr. Logan Kanapathi): Thank you for electing me as Chair, and thank you to all the committee members for putting faith and trust in me. Thank you for that.

We have the following members in the room—MPP Mike Harris, MPP Sabawy, MPP Mike Schreiner, MPP Guy Bourgouin, MPP Chris Glover—and also the following members joining by Zoom: MPP Bob Bailey, MPP Will Bouma, MPP Amarjot Sandhu and MPP Daisy Wai. Thank you for joining through Zoom.

Staff from Hansard, very important people—and the Clerk is here; it’s Isaiah. Broadcast and recording, and legislative research join us remotely today.

There being no further business, this committee now stands adjourned. Thank you for all being here, and thank you for your participation.

The committee adjourned at 1403.


Chair / Président

Mr. Logan Kanapathi (Markham–Thornhill PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Mike Schreiner (Guelph G)

Ms. Jill Andrew (Toronto–St. Paul’s ND)

Mr. Robert Bailey (Sarnia–Lambton PC)

Mr. Will Bouma (Brantford–Brant PC)

Mr. Guy Bourgouin (Mushkegowuk–James Bay / Mushkegowuk–Baie James ND)

Mr. Chris Glover (Spadina–Fort York ND)

Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener–Conestoga PC)

Mr. Logan Kanapathi (Markham–Thornhill PC)

Mr. Sheref Sabawy (Mississauga–Erin Mills PC)

Mr. Amarjot Sandhu (Brampton West / Brampton-Ouest PC)

Mr. Mike Schreiner (Guelph G)

Mrs. Daisy Wai (Richmond Hill PC)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Isaiah Thorning

Staff / Personnel

Mr. Michael Vidoni, research officer,
Research Services