P004 - Sun 30 Jan 2022 / Dim 30 jan 2022



Sunday 30 January 2022 Dimanche 30 janvier 2022

Committee business


The committee met at 1100 in room 151 and by video conference.

Committee business

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Christine Hogarth): I call this meeting to order. Good morning, everyone. We are meeting today, pursuant to standing order 121, for the purposes of considering a motion under the standing order.

Pursuant to standing order 121, 30 minutes shall be allotted to debate this motion, at the end of which time the Chair shall put the question. I propose to allot 12 and a half minutes to the government members, 12 and a half minutes to the official opposition, and five minutes to the independent member for debate of this motion. Are there any questions before we begin? I see none.

Would someone like to move the motion? MPP Parsa.

Mr. Michael Parsa: I move that the Standing Committee on Public Accounts meet immediately for the purposes of considering Laurentian University’s proposal dated January 28, 2022.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Christine Hogarth): Thank you, sir. Is there any debate? Are the members ready to vote? All those in favour? All those opposed? The motion is carried.

We can now begin consideration of Laurentian University’s proposal. MPP Parsa, would you like to start?

Mr. Michael Parsa: I move that the committee enter closed session to consider the correspondence from Laurentian University.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Christine Hogarth): Is there any debate? All those in favour of moving into closed session? All those opposed? I declare the motion carried.

We will now move into closed session.

The committee continued in closed session at 1102.


Chair / Président

Mr. Taras Natyshak (Essex ND)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Ms. Christine Hogarth (Etobicoke–Lakeshore PC)

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Mr. Toby Barrett (Haldimand–Norfolk PC)

Ms. Jessica Bell (University–Rosedale ND)

Mr. Stephen Blais (Orléans L)

Mr. Stephen Crawford (Oakville PC)

Mr. Rudy Cuzzetto (Mississauga–Lakeshore PC)

Ms. Christine Hogarth (Etobicoke–Lakeshore PC)

Mr. Michael Mantha (Algoma–Manitoulin ND)

Mr. Taras Natyshak (Essex ND)

Mr. Michael Parsa (Aurora–Oak Ridges–Richmond Hill PC)

Mr. Amarjot Sandhu (Brampton West / Brampton-Ouest PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mme France Gélinas (Nickel Belt ND)

Mr. Jamie West (Sudbury ND)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Christopher Tyrell

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Erica Simmons, research officer,
Research Services

Mr. William Wong, senior parliamentary counsel