Wednesday 8 August 2018 Mercredi 8 août 2018

Election of Chair

Election of Vice-Chair

Appointment of subcommittee












The committee met at 0903 in room 151.

Election of Chair

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Christopher Tyrell): Good morning, honourable members. It is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations? Ms. Sattler?

Ms. Peggy Sattler: I nominate Catherine Fife.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Christopher Tyrell): Ms. Fife, do you accept the nomination?

Ms. Catherine Fife: I accept, yes.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Christopher Tyrell): Okay, are there any further nominations?

There being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Ms. Fife elected Chair of the committee.

Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Good morning, members. It is my duty now to call for nominations for a Vice-Chair. Are there any motions for Vice-Chair? MPP Morrison?

Ms. Suze Morrison: Yes, I nominate Peggy Sattler.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): MPP Sattler, do you accept the nomination?

Ms. Peggy Sattler: I accept, thank you.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Congratulations. Any other nominations?

Seeing none, congratulations, MPP Sattler, you are the Vice-Chair.


The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Okay, I did this.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Christopher Tyrell): It’s a motion.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Oh, it’s a motion.

Okay, for Hansard, we have to do this correctly. A motion has been moved by MPP Morrison. Is there any debate on the Vice-Chair nomination?

Seeing none, are members ready to vote? Shall the motion carry? All those in favour? Unanimous—congratulations, MPP Sattler. Very good.

Before we get started, I just have a few comments to make before we move into the official agenda. We’re going to be receiving a briefing on this committee. I wanted to tell you that I feel that this is the best committee in the Legislature. It’s the least partisan, so we actually have the opportunity to work together. We have the opportunity to follow the money, which is a very important role and responsibility that we have as legislators. We’re well resourced in this committee, by research, through legislative research and through our Clerk, Chris—you prefer Chris, right? Or Mr. Tyrell? So, I’m really looking forward to the work that’s before us.

Would you like to distribute the information there?

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Christopher Tyrell): We have to do this first, and then we’ll go into closed session.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Okay.

Appointment of subcommittee

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): We do have to appoint a subcommittee, which is the working committee of this standing committee. The next item on our agenda is the appointment of the subcommittee on committee business. I would now entertain the motion to appoint that subcommittee. Are there any other motions? MPP Sattler?

Miss Kinga Surma: Oh, sorry. I would like to move that motion.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): MPP Surma?

Miss Kinga Surma: I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair, or at the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business on the committee;

That the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting; and

That the subcommittee be composed of the following members: the Chair as Chair, Ms. Sattler and Mr. Miller; and

That substitution be permitted on the subcommittee.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Thank you very much, MPP Surma. Any discussions, comments or questions?

Seeing none, shall the motion carry? All in favour? Thank you very much. That is carried.

Now, we move into closed session so that we can receive our committee briefing. Thank you very much.

The committee continued in closed session at 0909.






Chair / Présidente

Ms. Catherine Fife (Waterloo ND)


Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Ms. Peggy Sattler (London West / London-Ouest ND)


Ms. Catherine Fife (Waterloo ND)

Ms. Goldie Ghamari (Carleton PC)

Mr. Jim McDonell (Stormont–Dundas–South Glengarry PC)

Mr. Norman Miller (Parry Sound–Muskoka PC)

Ms. Suze Morrison (Toronto Centre / Toronto-Centre ND)

Mr. Michael Parsa (Aurora–Oak Ridges–Richmond Hill PC)

Ms. Peggy Sattler (London West / London-Ouest ND)

Miss Kinga Surma (Etobicoke Centre / Etobicoke-Centre PC)

Mrs. Daisy Wai (Richmond Hill PC)


Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Christopher Tyrell


Staff / Personnel

Ms. Laura Anthony, research officer,
Research Services


Ms. Susan Klein, assistant Auditor General