

ISSN 1180-4386

Legislative Assembly of Ontario First Session, 39<sup>th</sup> Parliament Assemblée législative de l'Ontario Première session, 39<sup>e</sup> législature

# Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

Thursday 13 December 2007

Standing committee on finance and economic affairs

Organization

# Journal des débats (Hansard)

Jeudi 13 décembre 2007

Comité permanent des finances et des affaires économiques

Organisation

Chair: Pat Hoy Clerk: William Short Président : Pat Hoy Greffier : William Short

F-1

F-1

## Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

#### http://www.ontla.on.ca/

## **Index inquiries**

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7410 or 325-3708.

# Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

### **Renseignements sur l'index**

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7410 ou le 325-3708.

Hansard Reporting and Interpretation Services Room 500, West Wing, Legislative Building 111 Wellesley Street West, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario



Service du Journal des débats et d'interprétation Salle 500, aile ouest, Édifice du Parlement 111, rue Wellesley ouest, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Téléphone, 416-325-7400; télécopieur, 416-325-7430 Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

# STANDING COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND ECONOMIC AFFAIRS

Thursday 13 December 2007

The committee met at 1107 in room 151.

#### ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. William Short): Good morning, honourable members. It is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations?

**Mr. Wayne Arthurs:** I move the name of Mr. Hoy, the member from Chatham–Kent–Essex.

**The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. William Short):** Mr. Hoy, do you accept the nomination?

Mr. Pat Hoy: I do.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. William Short): Are there any further nominations? There being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Mr. Hoy the Chair of the committee.

**The Chair (Mr. Pat Hoy):** Thank you very much. It's a pleasure to be Chair of this committee once again.

#### ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

The Chair (Mr. Pat Hoy): It's now my duty to call upon you to elect the Vice-Chair. Are there any nominations?

**Mr. Wayne Arthurs:** I move the name of Mr. Lalonde, the member from Glengarry–Prescott–Russell.

The Chair (Mr. Pat Hoy): Do you accept the nomination, Mr. Lalonde?

Mr. Jean-Marc Lalonde: Yes, I do.

The Chair (Mr. Pat Hoy): Are there any further nominations? There being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Mr. Jean-Marc Lalonde elected Vice-Chair of the committee. Congratulations, Jean-Marc.

#### APPOINTMENT OF SUBCOMMITTEE

**Mr. Michael Prue:** I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair, or on the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee;

ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

# COMITÉ PERMANENT DES FINANCES ET DES AFFAIRES ÉCONOMIQUES

Jeudi 13 décembre 2007

That the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting; and

That the subcommittee be composed of the following members: the Chair as chair; Mr. Arthurs, Mr. Barrett and Mr. Prue; and that substitution be permitted on subcommittee.

The Chair (Mr. Pat Hoy): Are there any discussions or comments? Hearing none, all those in favour of the motion? Opposed, if any? Carried.

That concludes the business of our committee this morning.

**Mr. Michael Prue:** Could we have a very brief discussion? It is usual for the finance committee to travel in the months of January and February, and I assume we will be doing so. Is it possible to have a subcommittee meeting soon to determine the times? I know that some may want to take vacations and other things, and if we know when we will be travelling, I'm sure it will be beneficial for all members to know those dates.

**The Chair (Mr. Pat Hoy):** I agree. The committee business is concluded. I was going to ask if we could now go into a subcommittee meeting. Is that agreeable?

**Mr. Toby Barrett:** Just another comment: I assume we can go into a subcommittee meeting, and I also understand that for us to meet in between sittings, a motion has to be put forward in the Legislative Assembly.

The Chair (Mr. Pat Hoy): We require a motion from the House, but we could have a motion in our subcommittee meeting, subject to the motion from the House, to do what we might discuss today. So we would do some planning, subject to the House allowing us to do so.

**Mr. Toby Barrett:** So we could set a time for a subcommittee meeting right now?

**The Chair (Mr. Pat Hoy):** Yes. I would like to have a subcommittee meeting right now.

This committee is adjourned, and those on the subcommittee will now stay and we'll discuss matters.

The committee adjourned at 1110.

## **CONTENTS**

## Thursday 13 December 2007

Election of Chair	F-1
Election of Vice-Chair	F-1
Appointment of subcommittee	F-1

#### STANDING COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND ECONOMIC AFFAIRS

**Chair / Président** Mr. Pat Hoy (Chatham–Kent–Essex L)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président Mr. Jean-Marc Lalonde (Glengarry–Prescott–Russell L)

Ms. Sophia Aggelonitis (Hamilton Mountain L) Mr. Ted Arnott (Wellington–Halton Hills PC) Mr. Wayne Arthurs (Pickering–Scarborough East / Pickering–Scarborough-Est L) Mr. Toby Barrett (Haldimand–Norfolk PC) Mr. Pat Hoy (Chatham–Kent–Essex L) Mr. Jean-Marc Lalonde (Glengarry–Prescott–Russell L) Ms. Leeana Pendergast (Kitchener–Conestoga L) Mr. Michael Prue (Beaches–East York ND) Mr. Charles Sousa (Mississauga South / Mississauga-Sud L)

> **Substitutions / Membres remplaçants** Mr. Yasir Naqvi (Ottawa Centre / Ottawa-Centre L)

> > **Clerk / Greffier** Mr. William Short

**Staff / Personnel** Ms. Anne Marzalik, research officer Ms. Carrie Hull, research officer Research and Information Services