

ISSN 1180-5218

Legislative Assembly of Ontario

First Session, 38th Parliament

Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

Monday 21 June 2004

Standing committee on general government

Organization

Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

Première session, 38^e législature

Journal des débats (Hansard)

Lundi 21 juin 2004

Comité permanent des affaires gouvernementales

Organisation

Chair: Jean-Marc Lalonde Clerk: Tonia Grannum Président : Jean-Marc Lalonde Greffière : Tonia Grannum

Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

http://www.ontla.on.ca/

Index inquiries

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7410 or 325-3708.

Copies of Hansard

Information regarding purchase of copies of Hansard may be obtained from Publications Ontario, Management Board Secretariat, 50 Grosvenor Street, Toronto, Ontario, M7A 1N8. Phone 416-326-5310, 326-5311 or toll-free 1-800-668-9938.

Renseignements sur l'index

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7410 ou le 325-3708.

Exemplaires du Journal

Pour des exemplaires, veuillez prendre contact avec Publications Ontario, Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion, 50 rue Grosvenor, Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1N8. Par téléphone: 416-326-5310, 326-5311, ou sans frais : 1-800-668-9938.

Hansard Reporting and Interpretation Services 3330 Whitney Block, 99 Wellesley St W Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario





Service du Journal des débats et d'interprétation 3330 Édifice Whitney ; 99, rue Wellesley ouest Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Téléphone, 416-325-7400 ; télécopieur, 416-325-7430 Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

COMITÉ PERMANENT DES

STANDING COMMITTEE ON GENERAL GOVERNMENT

AL GOVERNMENT AFFAIRES GOUVERNEMENTALES

Monday 21 June 2004

Lundi 21 juin 2004

The committee met at 1555 in room 151.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

Clerk Pro Tem of the Committee (Ms Susan Sourial): I'd like to call this meeting to order. Honourable members, it's my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair.

Mr Jerry J. Ouellette (Oshawa): I would like to nominate Jean-Marc Lalonde.

Clerk Pro Tem of the Committee: Mr Ouellette has nominated Mr Lalonde. Any further nominations? Seeing none, I declare nominations closed and Mr Lalonde elected as Chair.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

The Chair (Mr Jean-Marc Lalonde): Thank you, Mr Ouellette, and thank you, everyone, for the confidence. I'm told we are going to have a pretty good month of August coming.

Now we need a nomination for Vice-Chair.

Mr Shafiq Qaadri (Etobicoke North): Mr Chair, with your permission, I'd like to nominate Mr Vic Dhillon for Vice-Chair.

The Chair: Vic Dhillon has been nominated by Shafiq Qaadri. Any other nominations? Mr Dhillon is absent, but he had shown interest in continuing as Vice-Chair, so I declare Mr Dhillon Vice-Chair of the standing committee on general government.

APPOINTMENT OF SUBCOMMITTEE

The Chair: The next item we have on the agenda is the motion to appoint a subcommittee on committee business.

Ms Deborah Matthews (London North Centre): I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair, or at the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee; and that the subcommittee be composed

of the following members: the Chair as Chair—Mr Ouellette, Ms Churley and Mr Rinaldi; and that the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting.

The Chair: Any other nominations for the sub-committee? If none, shall the motion carry? Carried. Thank you.

Any other business?

Mr Ouellette: Mr Chair, first of all I'd like to congratulate you. I know you'll make an excellent Chair, as you've demonstrated in the past. However, you briefly mentioned sitting through the summer. Maybe you can enlighten us on something that you may or may not believe is in our future.

The Chair: Yes, I'd like to clarify that. Apparently, we will be getting Bill 26 and will have to travel during the month of August. The announcement should be made in the House by the end of the week. If it is called in the House by the end of the week, I will call the subcommittee, probably Thursday afternoon at 3:30 or have a conference call next Tuesday when Tonia comes back. Which would you prefer?

Mr Lou Rinaldi (Northumberland): Which one is Rill 26?

The Chair: That's the Municipal Act. We're looking at August and probably September. But before we do anything, I think it would be good to have a discussion among the subcommittee, and then the subcommittee could ask the members of the committee before we go ahead with the dates. Do we all agree on this? We'll wait and see what is going to happen this week in the House concerning the possibility of visiting different communities during the month of August.

Mr Ouellette: Mr Chair, I would move that we leave it up to the Chair—first to determine how it's brought forward in the House and that the Chair determine when the subcommittee should meet.

The Chair: Very good. Thank you.

Are there any other things to discuss? If none, I declare the meeting adjourned.

The committee adjourned at 1600.

CONTENTS

Monday 21 June 2004

Election of Chair	G-459
Election of Vice-Chair	G-459
Appointment of Subcommittee	G-459

STANDING COMMITTEE ON GENERAL GOVERNMENT

Chair / Président

Mr Jean-Marc Lalonde (Glengarry-Prescott-Russell L)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr Vic Dhillon (Brampton West-Mississauga / Brampton-Ouest-Mississauga L)

Ms Marilyn Churley (Toronto-Danforth ND)

Mr Vic Dhillon (Brampton West-Mississauga / Brampton-Ouest-Mississauga L)

Mr Brad Duguid (Scarborough Centre / Scarborough-Centre L)

Mr Jean-Marc Lalonde (Glengarry-Prescott-Russell L)

Ms Deborah Matthews (London North Centre / London-Centre-Nord L)

Mr Jerry J. Ouellette (Oshawa PC)

Mr Shafiq Qaadri (Etobicoke North / Etobicoke-Nord L)

Mr Lou Rinaldi (Northumberland L)

Mr John Yakabuski (Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr Kevin Daniel Flynn (Oakville L)

Clerk pro tem / Greffière par intérim

Ms Susan Sourial

Staff/Personnel

Ms Lorraine Luski, research officer, Research and Information Services