

1st SESSION, 41st LEGISLATURE, ONTARIO 63 ELIZABETH II, 2014

Bill Pr8

(Chapter Pr12 Statutes of Ontario, 2014)

An Act respecting Saint Paul University

Mr. J. Fraser

1st Reading	October 29, 2014
2nd Reading	December 10, 2014
3rd Reading	December 10, 2014
Royal Assent	December 11, 2014

Printed by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario



An Act respecting Saint Paul University

The council of administration of Saint Paul University has applied for special legislation to amend the composition of the senate of the university. Saint Paul University was incorporated under the name The College of Bytown by An Act to incorporate The College of Bytown in 1849 and its powers were extended and amended and its name changed to The College of Ottawa by special legislation passed in 1861, 1866, 1885 and 1891. The College of Ottawa was continued under the name Université d'Ottawa by The University of Ottawa Act, 1933, which was amended by special legislation passed in 1941, 1960-61 and 1964, was given additional powers by special legislation passed in 1959 and 1964 and was continued under the name Université Saint Paul in French and Saint Paul University in English and allowed to federate with the University of Ottawa by The University of Ottawa Act, 1965.

It is appropriate to grant the application.

Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Ontario, enacts as follows:

1. Section 24 of *The University of Ottawa Act*, *1933* is repealed and the following substituted:

Constitution of the senate

24. (1) The senate of the University, in this Act referred to as the senate, shall consist of not more than 30 members, as follows:

- 1. The chancellor.
- 2. The rector.
- 3. The vice-rectors.
- 4. The secretary general.
- 5. The dean of each faculty.
- 6. The secretary of each faculty.
- 7. The director of each school and institute.
- 8. The chief librarian.
- 9. One or two professors from each faculty, school and institute, elected by the professors of each such faculty, school and institute, as follows:

- i. if the faculty, school or institute has less than 15 professors, one professor is to be elected, and
- i. if the faculty, school or institute has 15 or more professors, two professors are to be elected.
- 10. Two undergraduate students, elected by the undergraduate students.
- 11. Two graduate students, elected by the graduate students.
- 12. Any other person that the senate may deem necessary to add, provided the maximum number of senators does not exceed 30.

Terms of office

(2) The members elected under paragraphs 9 and 10 of subsection (1) shall each serve for two years and the members elected under paragraph 11 of subsection (1) shall each serve for one year.

Vice-dean may act for dean

(3) If a dean of any faculty is unable to act as a member of the senate, the vice-dean of the faculty may act in his or her place.

Continuation of current senate

(4) The members of the senate who are in office immediately before the *Saint Paul University Act*, 2014 receives Royal Assent shall remain in office until the members of the senate are elected or appointed under this section.

Validation of decisions and acts

(5) No decision or act of the senate taken before or after the *Saint Paul University Act, 2014* receives Royal Assent is invalid by reason only that the senate was not constituted in accordance with this section, as it read before the *Saint Paul University Act, 2014* receives Royal Assent.

Commencement

2. This Act comes into force on the day it receives Royal Assent.

Short title

3. The short title of this Act is the Saint Paul University Act, 2014.