Branches of Government

Legislative Branch

The legislative branch has the power and responsibility to debate, amend, and make laws. It consists of the Legislative Assembly of elected representatives.

Executive Branch

The executive branch operates, implements, and enforces all the laws created by the legislative branch.  It comprises The Queen, represented by the Lieutenant Governor (external link), and the Executive Council, made up of Cabinet Ministers appointed by the Premier. 

Judiciary Branch

The judiciary branch (external link) administers justice by interpreting and applying laws, protecting the rights of citizens, and punishing those who break laws. It consists of Canada’s system of courts and judges and operates independently from the other branches of government.