Franco-Ontarian Flag Now Displayed in Ontario’s Legislative Chamber

TORONTO, April 12, 2021 – The Franco-Ontarian flag is now displayed in the Legislative Chamber, and plans for an exterior installation are underway.

“We at the Assembly are pleased that the Franco-Ontarian flag was designated as an official emblem of Ontario in recognition of the important role Franco-Ontarians play in our society,” remarked Speaker Arnott. “Its addition to the Chamber and on the grounds is not only a celebration of it as a provincial symbol but also as a representation of a vibrant community that is a significant part of Ontario’s diverse fabric.”

The installation of the flag in the meeting room for the province’s 124 elected Members comes after a recommendation proposed by MPP Lucille Collard (Ottawa-Vanier) last month was unanimously supported by the House to request its placement there, as well as outside the Legislature.

The Legislature previously passed Bill 182, introduced by MPP Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre) that amended the Franco-Ontarian Emblem Act, 2001 to recognize the Franco-Ontarian flag as an emblem of Ontario in addition to its existing status as an emblem of the province’s French speaking community. It received Royal Assent and came into force on September 24th, 2020. Other symbols recognized by Ontario law are the common loon, the white trillium, the eastern white pine, and the amethyst.

The Franco-Ontarian flag was flown for the first time at the University of Sudbury on September 25th, 1975, a date which is now celebrated each year as Franco-Ontarian Day across the province. The green and white of the flag represent summer and winter while the trillium represents Ontario and the fleur-de-lys symbolizes the French speaking community.

At the Legislative Building, the Franco-Ontarian flag is also displayed alongside the Canadian, Ontario and Legislative Assembly flags in the Legislature’s five Committee Rooms as well as the Speaker’s Boardroom, a meeting location for hosting visiting dignitaries.


David Bogart, Communications Officer
Parliamentary Protocol and Public Relations Branch 416 - 315 - 5051 (C)