Monday 21 June 2004 Lundi 21 juin 2004





The committee met at 1603 in committee room 1.


Clerk of the Committee (Ms Anne Stokes): Good afternoon, everybody. Welcome to the first meeting of the standing committee on social policy. My name is Anne Stokes. I'm the clerk of the committee, and it is my duty, honourable members, to oversee the election of a Chair of the committee. Are there any nominations?

Mr Ted McMeekin (Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Aldershot): I'll nominate my illustrious colleague Jeff Leal.

Clerk of the Committee: Are there any other nominations?

Mr Ted Arnott (Waterloo-Wellington): I wish to second that nomination.

Clerk of the Committee: Any further nominations? There being no further nominations, I declare Mr Leal the Chair of the committee. Congratulations, and if you'd like to come forward.


The Chair (Mr Jeff Leal): Thank you very much, colleagues. The next item of business we have is the election of a Vice-Chair. Are there any nominations?

Mr McMeekin: Congratulations on your hard-fought victory. That was great.

The Chair: It reminds me of my municipal days, Mr McMeekin.

Mr McMeekin: I'd be pleased to nominate Khalil Ramal for Vice-Chair.

The Chair: Mr Ramal has been nominated. Any further nominations? Mr Ramal, you've been nominated, and congratulations, as the Vice-Chair. Good job.


The Chair: We're now going to appoint the subcommittee.

Ms Kathleen O. Wynne (Don Valley West): I'd like to move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair, or on the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee;

That the subcommittee be composed of the following members: the Chair as Chair, Mr McMeekin, Mr Chudleigh, and Mr Marchese; and

That the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting.

Mr Rosario Marchese (Trinity-Spadina): I'll volunteer for myself.

Mr Arnott: I'll volunteer for Mr Chudleigh.

The Chair: Thank you very much, Mr Arnott. Democracy works in a wonderful fashion when people aren't present. That's terrific.

The appropriate people have now been nominated for the subcommittee. All in favour? Carried.

Madam Clerk, any other business today?

Clerk of the Committee: Not that I'm aware of.

Ms Wynne: Could I just ask whether we know what upcoming business or legislation the committee will be considering?

The Chair: There are at least three bills that I think are coming forward. I'm sorry, I don't have the numbers, but I know for a fact there are three bills coming forward. I'll ask my clerk to help us out here.

Clerk of the Committee: All I'm aware of right now are three private members' bills that have been referred. They had previously been referred to the standing committee on justice and social policy and went in the order to create this committee. Three of them were referred here.

The Chair: Madam Clerk, maybe you could just name those three bills.

Clerk of the Committee: Bill 55, by Mr Gravelle, An Act to amend the Health Insurance Act; Bill 57, by Mrs Witmer, An Act to amend the Health Insurance Act to make various immunizations insured services; and Bill 71, An Act to proclaim Olympic Day, by Mr Fonseca.

Ms Wynne: Is there still the possibility that there will be other business referred, and will we be meeting in August, then, to work on this business?

The Chair: Ms Wynne, I can't comment right now. I suspect that this committee, as other committees, will have a full workload as other bills are instituted, both private members' bills and government bills, and regulations. I can assure you there will be lots of work to do.

Ms Wynne: I'm just trying to get a sense of --

The Chair: Absolutely.

Ms Wynne: Thank you.

Mr Arnott: In all likelihood, the House leaders will be meeting to decide whether or not this committee will sit over the summer months, and hopefully we'll be able to deal with our important business.

The Chair: Anything further

Mr John Wilkinson (Perth-Middlesex): I move adjournment.

The Chair: Carried.

The committee adjourned at 1606.


Monday 21 June 2004

Election of Chair SP-1

Election of Vice-Chair SP-1

Appointment of Subcommittee SP-1


Chair / Président

Mr Jeff Leal (Peterborough L)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr Khalil Ramal (London-Fanshawe L)

Mr Ted Arnott (Waterloo-Wellington PC)

Mr Ted Chudleigh (Halton PC)

Mr Kim Craitor (Niagara Falls L)

Mr Peter Fonseca (Mississauga East / Mississauga-Est L)

Mr Jeff Leal (Peterborough L)

Mr Rosario Marchese (Trinity-Spadina ND)

Mr Ted McMeekin (Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Aldershot L)

Mr Khalil Ramal (London-Fanshawe L)

Ms Kathleen O. Wynne (Don Valley West / Don Valley-Ouest L)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr John Wilkinson (Perth-Middlesex L)

Clerk / Greffière

Ms Anne Stokes

Staff / Personnel

Ms Elaine Campbell, research officer,

Research and Information Services