T001 - Wed 8 Aug 2018 / Mer 8 aoû 2018



Wednesday 8 August 2018 Mercredi 8 août 2018

Election of Chair

Election of Vice-Chair

Appointment of subcommittee


The committee met at 0902 in committee room 1.

Election of Chair

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Eric Rennie): Good morning, honourable members. My name is Eric Rennie. I’m the Clerk of the Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills. As the Clerk of the Committee, it is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations for Chair? Mr. Barrett.

Mr. Toby Barrett: Good morning, standing committee. I think we have a good mix of people here. I’m looking forward to some enjoyable sessions.

At the wishes of the committee, I do wish to put forward a motion with respect to us electing a Chair. I wish to put forward the name of MPP Randy Hillier.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Eric Rennie): Mr. Barrett has nominated Mr. Hillier. Mr. Hillier, do you accept the nomination?

Mr. Randy Hillier: I do.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Eric Rennie): Are there any further nominations for Chair? Seeing no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Mr. Hillier elected Chair of the committee.

Mr. Hillier, would you please assume the chair?

Election of Vice-Chair

The Chair (Mr. Randy Hillier): Good morning, honourable members. It’s my duty to entertain a motion for Vice-Chair. Are there any motions?

Mr. Billy Pang: I move that Mr. Rasheed be appointed as Vice-Chair of the committee.

The Chair (Mr. Randy Hillier): Are there any other nominations? Is there any debate? Seeing none, are the members ready to vote? Shall the motion carry? The motion is carried.

Appointment of subcommittee

The Chair (Mr. Randy Hillier): Our next order of business is the appointment of the members for the subcommittee on committee business. Is there a motion for subcommittee business? Yes, Laura.

Ms. Laura Mae Lindo: I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair, or at the request of any member thereof, to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee;

That the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting; and

That the subcommittee be composed of the following members: the Chair as Chair, Mr. Bouma and Mr. West; and

That substitution be permitted on the subcommittee.

The Chair (Mr. Randy Hillier): Thank you. Any debate? Seeing none, all those in favour, say “aye.” All those opposed? The motion is carried.

We’ll be going into closed session for a briefing by the committee Clerk on the committee business.

The committee continued in closed session at 0907.


Chair / Président

Mr. Randy Hillier (Lanark–Frontenac–Kingston PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Kaleed Rasheed (Mississauga East–Cooksville / Mississauga-Est–Cooksville PC)

Mr. Toby Barrett (Haldimand–Norfolk PC)

Mr. Will Bouma (Brantford–Brant PC)

Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener–Conestoga PC)

Mr. Randy Hillier (Lanark–Frontenac–Kingston PC)

Ms. Mitzie Hunter (Scarborough–Guildwood L)

Ms. Laura Mae Lindo (Kitchener Centre / Kitchener-Centre ND)

Mr. Paul Miller (Hamilton East–Stoney Creek / Hamilton-Est–Stoney Creek ND)

Mr. Billy Pang (Markham–Unionville PC)

Mr. Kaleed Rasheed (Mississauga East–Cooksville / Mississauga-Est–Cooksville PC)

Mr. Amarjot Sandhu (Brampton West / Brampton-Ouest PC)

Mr. Jamie West (Sudbury ND)

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Eric Rennie

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Tamara Hauerstock, research officer,
Research Services