P023 - Wed 23 Sep 2020 / Mer 23 sep 2020



Wednesday 23 September 2020 Mercredi 23 septembre 2020

Appointment of subcommittee

Committee business


The committee met at 0902 in room 151 and by video conference.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Good morning. I now call this meeting of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts to order. It’s good to be back. At the outset, I would like to welcome MPP Daryl Kramp to our committee membership. He is replacing MPP Miller, who served this committee very well.

Appointment of subcommittee

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Our first item of business is addressing the vacancy on our subcommittee on committee business. Would anyone like to make a motion pertaining to this? I recognize MPP Crawford.

Mr. Stephen Crawford: Good morning to everyone. I move that MPP Parsa be appointed to the subcommittee on committee business.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Thank you. Any debate? Seeing no debate, are members ready to vote?

Mme France Gélinas: We have debate. I raised my hand.

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Oh, you raised your hand—I mean, go ahead.

Mme France Gélinas: It’s just “Welcome.”


The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Be very careful with me today, MPP Gélinas. Okay. Welcome.

So there’s no debate. I’m calling the vote. Are members ready to vote? Yes. All in favour? It is unanimous. Welcome to the subcommittee, MPP Parsa. I declare the motion carried.

Committee business

The Chair (Ms. Catherine Fife): Before we move into closed session, I would like to inform the committee that due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation and to ensure proper physical distancing, I would suggest that for the time being all witnesses appear virtually by Zoom or by teleconference and, given that most members will be participating via Zoom, that all witness submissions and committee documents be distributed electronically to all members and staff of the committee. Are we all in agreement with that? Any discussion? Seeing no opposition, it’s carried.

Oh, I’d like to welcome MPP Andrew. Welcome to the committee.

Okay, so we’re going to move forward. There was one question that came up prior to starting: Now that members’ statements begin at 10:15, we may have to revisit the timing of when this committee ends, because we have members of our committee who will have to make statements. The Clerk and I are going to have a discussion about that, and we will determine timing.

With that said, we will now move into closed session in order to discuss committee business. We’re going to pause to remove the folks from the room.

The committee continued in closed session at 0904.


Chair / Présidente

Ms. Catherine Fife (Waterloo ND)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Mme France Gélinas (Nickel Belt ND)

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Ms. Jill Andrew (Toronto–St. Paul’s ND)

Mr. Toby Barrett (Haldimand–Norfolk PC)

Mr. Stan Cho (Willowdale PC)

Mr. Stephen Crawford (Oakville PC)

Ms. Catherine Fife (Waterloo ND)

Mr. John Fraser (Ottawa South / Ottawa-Sud L)

Mme France Gélinas (Nickel Belt ND)

Ms. Christine Hogarth (Etobicoke–Lakeshore PC)

Mr. Daryl Kramp (Hastings–Lennox and Addington PC)

Mr. Michael Parsa (Aurora–Oak Ridges–Richmond Hill PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Ms. Andrea Khanjin (Barrie–Innisfil PC)

Mr. Billy Pang (Markham–Unionville PC)

Mr. Dave Smith (Peterborough–Kawartha PC)

Also taking part / Autres participants et participantes

Ms. Bonnie Lysyk, Auditor General

Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Christopher Tyrell

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Laura Anthony, research officer,
Research Services

Mr. Dmitry Granovsky, research officer,
Research Services

Ms. Erica Simmons, research officer,
Research Services